Thoughtful Thursday – Count Your Blessings

The past few weeks have been really difficult for me.  I’ve been through quite a bit, but what I keep coming back to is how truly blessed I really am.  I think I better  understand what joy is now.  I’ve heard people speak of joy in church for years, and kind of just thought it meant really long happiness.  It doesn’t.  Joy is still there in your heart when you’re feeling devastated.  You can look around, no matter what is going on, and know that you have great hope in Jesus and you have been truly blessed.

Last night my head was spinning, and I couldn’t fall asleep.  I watched a terrible episode of Wife Swap where a very materialistic woman swapped lives with a family living without electricity in a log cabin.  She was cruel to them and looked down on the way they lived.  I kept thinking about how sad for that woman that she couldn’t see that she was valuing the wrong things.  It was obvious she doesn’t have joy.

And all through my struggles the past few weeks, I feel like I’ve realized more and more how really blessed I am in so many ways.  I am.  I feel like the richest woman in the world.  So, last night, as I tossed and turned, I heard Bing Crosby in my head singing, “if you’re tired and you can’t sleep, just count your blessings instead of sheep, and you’ll fall asleep counting your blessings.”

I’m behind in my posts, and also in my replies to some of your emails.  I will try to get on that when I can.  For now, here’s some pictures of what’s been going on here, and my attempts at being intentional the past few weeks.  There not full posts about them, but let me know if you have any questions about what we did (also suggestions), and I’d be happy to reply.

 

One response to “Thoughtful Thursday – Count Your Blessings

  1. “Count Your Blessings, Count Them One by One” This hymn(link below) is a hymn that may may help us all, at some time, provide perspective…

    But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19

Leave a Reply

