Weekend Activity – Have you seen these things?

Ok, I typically don’t like to do posts that encourage you to go out and buy things.  We’re living on a budget here, and I like to use things we’d typically have on hand.  However, have you seen these things?  I’m not big into decorations, and I don’t like kiddie looking things, but my boys love these window clings.  We got some for Christmas at the dollar spot at Target, and now those are put away in a plastic container (we’ll see if they last), and we have these up (I think I got these at the dollar store – not positive).  Each boy chose their own set, and they each were able to decorate the window behind their chair in the dining room.  They love removing the little pieces and setting them up in different ways and making stories of what they made.  They even love just feeling them.  My 16 month old has actually spent much more time with his window, arranging, rearranging, feeling, pulling; he just loves it and over signs to play there.

I have found it really useful when they’re in that hungry state when the meal just isn’t ready, but its driving them crazy to watch me finish making it.  I just tell them to go to their seats and play with their window clings, and it keeps them quiet until its ready.

They’re great for fine motor development, imagination, sensory play, counting, and language.

I’ve seen them at Target and the dollar store, and for less than $3 per package.  Have you seen them anywhere?

2 responses to “Weekend Activity – Have you seen these things?

  1. I see these all over the place! Christmas tree shop has them for cheap and most craft stores too. Such a good idea putting them behind their chairs and letting them rearrange them when they want. I wonder if there is even a way to make your own using cookie cutters or something. I may have to look into that. 🙂

  2. We tried to make own around Christmas with cookie cutters and colored glue on wax paper. It worked in my head but not in real life. They were either too thick and didn’t dry or too thin and tore apart. I feel like it needed another ingredient or two.

Leave a Reply

