Thoughtful Thursday – Exercise

 

I know that if you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ve probably been thinking that I know everything.  You may find this hard to believe, but I don’t.  In fact, I’d venture to say that I don’t know much.  I know, I can hear you gasping through the internet, but its true.  What I write about I know a little bit about through my teaching experiences or my education and behavior classes.  Sometimes I even look things up…in books even.

So today I thought I’d break out and write a post about something I don’t really understand.  Children’s motivation to exercise.

It seems like as soon as a baby starts moving, it’s almost impossible to get him to stop.  My baby is almost a year and is climbing and pushing and cruising everything he can get his hands on.  He is so exhausted that by nap time he stops moving the moment he hits the crib, and is asleep immediately.  My two-year old is cranky if we don’t fit in a visit to the park, or at the very least, a few laps around the house.

So what happens?  When do kids decide that this insatiable need to move has left them?  When do they decide they’d rather park themselves in front of video games all day?  Is it something learned?  Does it coincide with a growth spurt, and then never leaves them?  How can you prevent that from happening?

My two-year old is in a jumping phase right now.  If he doesn’t want to do something, all I have to do is put a jump in front of it, and he’ll do it.  He won’t get in the  car, but he’ll jump in the car!  He won’t go to the toilet, but he’ll jump to the toilet.  How do I get him to keep this need for movement?

Just thinking about it today.  Wondering if any of my readers have some insight.

Happy Thursday!

2 responses to “Thoughtful Thursday – Exercise

  1. Like you said, Jess, he won’t do something until you suggest a way to make it fun for him. Kids follow their parents example. More parents need to get up off the couch and go outside with their children and get active. Make physical fitness a fun, family activity and the children will learn to make it a way of life!

  2. Pingback: Great Post « The Coop Blog

Leave a Reply

